Certified Security Analyst (ECSA)

Provided by

Enquire about this course

About the course


If you want to gain practical, hands-on skills in realistic penetration test, the course in Certified Security Analyst is perfect for your career goals. Certified Security Analyst is the course you take when you want to go a step up from Ethical Hacker. Apply the tools and techniques you learned from Ethical Hacker and improve your understanding of how to apply these skills and understanding in real-world situations. It is a hands-on learning programme that will focus on penetration testing methodology.

The course is extensive and covers a range of key modules such as penetration testing essentials, open source intelligence methodology, social engineering penetration testing and network penetration testing methodology. Each module is discussed in-depth ensuring learners gain a firm understanding of the importance of applying skills learned in penetration testing methodology.

The Certified Security Analyst will help you advance your career with practical skills and experience, build on your skillset gained in Ethical Trainer and further progress to the specialised area of a penetration tester. Qualifying in this course will lead to numerous opportunities in the information security field in a number of high-paying job roles.

Who is this course aimed at?

This course will benefit Security Officers, Auditors, Site Administrators and Security Professionals. Additionally, it is suitable for any individual interested in the integrity of network infrastructure.

Entry Requirements

  • Learners should be age 19 or over, and must have a basic understanding of Maths, English, and ICT.
  • Learners must have 2 years of work experience in information security.

Method of Assessment

In order to successfully complete the Certified Security Analyst, learners have to sit for the EC-Council exam that demonstrates academic rigour and real-world applicability. Learners are expected to maintain high integrity by achieving the relevant test score.

  • Number of Questions: 150
  • Passing Score: 70%
  • Test Duration: 4 Hours


01: Introduction to Penetration Testing and Methodologies

02: Penetration Testing Scoping and Engagement Methodology

03: Open-Source Intelligence (OSINT) Methodology

04: Social Engineering Penetration Testing Methodology

05: Network Penetration Testing Methodology – External

06: Network Penetration Testing Methodology – Internal

07: Network Penetration Testing Methodology – Perimeter Devices

08: Web Application Penetration Testing Methodology

09: Database Penetration Testing Methodology

10: Wireless Penetration Testing Methodology

11: Cloud Penetration Testing Methodology

12: Report Writing and Post Testing Actions

Penetration Testing Essential Concepts (Self-Study)


Successful learners will be awarded the Certified Security Analyst by EC-Council Certified.

Awarding Body

EC-Council is a global leader in creating information security trainings and certification programmes. EC-Council operates in 145 countries and is widely recognised for developing Certified Ethical Hacker and Certified Security Analyst amongst a range of courses and programmes. They are proud to have trained information security professionals globally and influenced the mindset of organisations around the world. Their primary goal is to certify individuals and organisations in information security skills.

Progression and Career Path

This course in Certified Security Analyst will enhance your qualification for a number of jobs in the IT and application security industries. The qualification will demonstrate your skills and expertise in penetration testing methodology and prove to potential employers that you will be a valuable asset to an organisation. You can also use this certificate as an opportunity to win various job incentives put forth by your employer or to study further in the area and improve your knowledge on the subject. Below given are few of the jobs this certificate will help you in, along with the average UK salary per annum according to http://payscale.com/

  • Security Officers
  • Security Professionals
  • Site Administrators
  • Auditors
  • Tester


Start date Location / delivery
No fixed date Online Book now

Related article

If you're looking for a career in cloud security, you should be considering one of these four vendor-agnostic certifications.