Certified Network Defender (CND)

Provided by

Enquire about this course

About the course


Enhance your knowledge in cyber-security core principles and practices with the Certified Network Defender. If you’ve always had an interest in network security technologies and aspire to work in the industry, this course is the perfect choice.  It is an intensive network security training programme that has been developed after substantial market research. The course will cover in-depth network security preparedness. Learn to detect, protect and respond to network security with the Certified Network Defender.

The course is extensive and covers a range of key modules such computer network and defence fundamentals, physical security, host security, network security policy design and implementation and data backup and recovery. Each module is discussed in-depth ensuring learners gain a firm understanding of incident handling and response.

Certified Network Defender is designed to give you practical skills and experience on major network security techniques and tools that provide real-world solutions in network security operations and technologies.  Qualifying in this course will open the door to gaining multiple job opportunities in the network security field.

Who is this course aimed at?

This course is suitable for network administrators, network security administrators, network security engineers, CND analysts, security analysts and security operators.

Entry Requirements

  • Learners should be age 19 or over, and must have a basic understanding of Maths, English, and ICT
  • Learners must have minimum of 2 years work experience in cyber-security
  • An understanding of cyber-security fundamentals

Method of Assessment

In order to successfully complete the Certified Network Defender, learners have to sit for the EC-Council exam that demonstrates academic rigour and real-world applicability. Learners are expected to maintain high integrity by achieving the relevant test score.

  • Exam title: CND
  • Exam code: 312-38
  • Number of questions: 100
  • Duration: 4 Hours
  • Test Format: Interactive Multiple Choice Questions


01: Computer Network and Defense Fundamentals.

02: Network Security Threats, Vulnerabilities, and Attacks.

03: Network Security Controls, Protocols, and Devices.

04: Network Security Policy Design and Implementation.

05: Physical Security.

06: Host Security.

07: Secure Firewall Configuration and Management.

08: Secure IDS Configuration and Management.

09: Secure VPN Configuration and Management.

10: Wireless Network Defense.

11: Network Traffic Monitoring and Analysis.

12: Network Risk and Vulnerability Management.

13: Data Backup and Recovery.

14: Network Incident Response and Management.


Successful learners will be awarded the Certified Network Defender by EC-Council Certified.

Awarding Body

EC-Council is a global leader in creating information security trainings and certification programmes. EC-Council operates in 145 countries and is widely recognised for developing Certified Ethical Hacker and Certified Security Analyst amongst a range of courses and programmes. They are proud to have trained information security professionals globally and influenced the mindset of organisations around the world. Their primary goal is to certify individuals and organisations in information security skills.

Progression and Career Path

This course in Certified Network Defender will enhance your opportunities for a number of jobs in the IT and network security industries. The qualification will demonstrate your expertise in network defence fundamentals proving to potential employers that you will be a valuable asset to the organisation. You can also use this certificate as an opportunity to win various job incentives put forth by your employer or to study further in the area and improve your knowledge in network security. Below given are few of the jobs this certificate will help you in, along with the average UK salary per annum according to http://payscale.com/

  • Network Security Administrators
  • Network Administrators
  • System Administrators
  • Network Security Engineers
  • CND Analysts
  • Security Analysts


Start date Location / delivery
No fixed date Online

Related article

If you're looking for a career in cloud security, you should be considering one of these four vendor-agnostic certifications.