CREST Practitioner Security Analyst v2.1 training course

Provided by

About the course

The CPSA course leads to the CREST Practitioner Security Analyst (CPSA) CREST PSAexamination, which is an entry level qualification that tests a candidate’s knowledge in assessing operating systems and common network services at a basic level below that; of the main CRT and CCT qualifications. The CPSA examination also includes an intermediate level of web application security testing and methods to identify common web application security vulnerabilities. The examination covers a common set of core skills and knowledge that assess the candidate’s technical knowledge. The candidate must demonstrate that they are able to perform basic infrastructure and web application testing and interpret the results to locate security vulnerabilities. Success will confer the CREST Practitioner status to the individual. This qualification is a pre-requisite for the CREST Registered Penetration Tester (CRT) examination and comprises a multiple-choice examination. CRT is available as a separate course.

Who should attend?

Aspiring information security personnel who wish to be part of a PenTest team
System administrators who are responding to attacks
Incident handlers who wish to expand their knowledge into Penetration Testing and Digital Forensics
Government departments who wish to raise and baseline skills across all security teams
Law enforcement officers or detectives who want to expand their investigative skills
Information security managers who would like to brush up on the latest techniques and processes in order to understand information security implications
New hires / apprentices starting their security careers
Anyone needing CPSA as a pre-requisite for the CREST Registered Tester (CRT) examination.

What will I learn?

The programme is broken into eleven modules:

Module 1: Soft skills and assessment management
Module 2: Core technical skills
Module 3: Information gathering & open source
Module 4: Networking equipment
Module 5: Microsoft windows security assessment
Module 6: Unix security assessment
Module 7: Web technologies
Module 8: Web testing methodologies
Module 9: Web testing techniques
Module 10: Databases
Module 11: Preparation for the CPSA exam

How will I benefit?

Ability to detect an attack
Aware how to handle it
Have the knowledge to trace and acquire the evidence, investigate, analyse and re-construct the incident

What's included?

Comprehensive course notes
A certificate of attendance


Related article

Cyber security training is falling short, one expert has warned. A global expert in cyber security has warned that the dearth of talent in the indu...